Engaging the culture with the gospel of Jesus Christ.

I know it’s not Thanks Giving, but…

I Thess. 5:18

“in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

A simple verse, one most of those reading this are probably familiar with. Yet when it comes to where the rubber meets the road – it’s quite difficult to remember it, let alone keep it.

Speaking of tires on asphalt – let me tell you why this verse is on my mind today….

I had just finished up a day at the office and arranged for my wife and sons to meet me there. Once Upon a Child was having a sale, and since I have the responsibility of clothing 3 boys I thought I’d take advantage of it – where else can you get name brand pants and shirts for $1.00 each?!

Traffic was a bit congested on Kingston Pike, I was about 10 vehicles from the intersection and figured I could wedge into the turning lane. I tried, but only got my driver’s side fender out as I had pulled a bit too close to the car in front of me.

The light turned green, and the driver started edging forward.

I had just taken my foot off the break and was slowly beginning to roll on into the center turn lane when a white blur passed me, leaving a pop sound – similar to the one my son‘s head makes smacks into the wall he didn’t see as he was fleeing from his younger brother, neck twisted at a near 180 trying to see if his brother is gaining on him – only this pop was accompanied by a jolt that every one felt, not just my little talented runner.

I finished rolling into the center lane and permitted oncoming traffic to pass before getting out of the vehicle to check on the other driver. She was fine, although her vehicle had apparently suffered more damage than my own.

The police arrived (my 4 year old asked if I was going to jail), the necessary reports were filled out, and I was faulted with the wreck (although managed to avoid incarceration).

So now back to the Scripture which I failed to obey. I kept my frustration at bay, as I didn’t let it show to any of the parties outside my family, they saw the lack of gratitude first had. “We just saved up $1,000 and now I’ve got to shell out a deductible to get our car fixed!” I told anyone in the car who would listen. I was frustrated with being faulted with the accident, not so much about the blame, as the money it would cost me in deductibles and my insurance rate increasing.

We didn’t go shopping. I was so disturbed by it all I just turned around and went home, thinking to myself, “Great! I just made a trip out to West Town just to have a wreck and go home! What profitable afternoon! DAH!!”

A friend called me as I was on my way home, which I didn’t answer at the time, so I was going to return his call. Accidentally calling another friend, I explained the events of the past hour and a half to him. He said something that chided me, although he didn’t intend for it to. He thanked God that no one was hurt.

WOW! I had gone through all that, displaying the opposite of Jesus to my family. Sure, I didn’t get mad at them, I didn’t yell at them, or take my frustration out on them; but I did display ingratitude for what had occurred. God has protected all parties involved through this situation. Had I been pulling out with more force, the other driver would have probably been injured. Had I gotten further out into the lane one of my passengers may have been injured and my axel would have taken more of the impact, causing more damage to my vehicle and hers as she wouldn’t have just continued rolling forward, but stopped right where she hit.

God is good! Not only did He protect all involved, and all those not involved who could have been, He did so knowing beforehand the total lack of gratefulness on my part. Although I am not faithful, HE is!!

Lamentations 3:22-23 “The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, For His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.”

I give this confession knowing that God gives beauty for ashes, may He take my failure and use it for His glory.

I Thess. 5:18

“in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Daniel Pulliam

3 responses

  1. lauren

    That is a good post honey, I was thinking today if you would have gone out a little more she may have hit your door or Jeremiah’s door. God protected all of us last night. I was thinking too we have the money to fix it, but have to start over again saving. How we need to trust God more in things like this or bills… Not saying I know why we had the wreck but God is in control.

    January 5, 2010 at 12:25 pm

  2. brandonchristiansullivan

    Wonderful post!

    January 5, 2010 at 11:24 pm

  3. Doris Ann

    Daniel, your blog was an encouragement to me as well as a reminder to me to give thanks to Our Lord in all situations and at all times. He watches over us and our loved ones, never putting upon us more than we can bear. He was with you yesterday, protecting you, your family, and the others involved in your “bump-up.” Our God IS an Awesome God!

    January 6, 2010 at 11:37 am

Leave a Reply

