Engaging the culture with the gospel of Jesus Christ.

A biblical view of God:

A biblical view of God is not something we are left to develop on our own as He has revealed Himself to us in His Word. Nor is it something we are at liberty to create by approaching His Word with a “pick-and-choose” mentality, holding to what suits us best and looking over those parts that are most distasteful.

There are a few verses that I would like to mention here were God confronted Job and His friends concerning this very thing.

1.  Will you even put me in the wrong? Will you condemn me that you may be in the right?
(Job 40:8  ) Paul asked his questioners the same thing in Romans 9:19-20 “You will say to me then, “Why does he still find fault? For who can resist his will?” But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, “Why have you made me like this?” ” The settings of these two questions are similar in that God was doing what He desired with whom He desired when He desired. Man likes to think he has control of his destiny, but he is nothing but a created being and is under the Sovereign control of God Almighty. “”Behold, Behemoth, which I made as I made you; he eats grass like an ox.”
(Job 40:15)

2.   Look on everyone who is proud and bring him low and tread down the wicked where they stand. Hide them all in the dust together; bind their faces in the world below. Then will I also acknowledge to you that your own right hand can save you. (Job 40:12-14)  Our will is a feckless thing! Our only hope of salvation is in The LORD! Many say that we are drowning and the gospel is a life preserver, thrown to us, and if we grab on to it we will be pulled to safety. They say this in attempts to emphasis man’s responsibility to believe the gospel, but take it to an unbiblical degree and turn responsibility into ability. God says we have no ability, that our own right hand (the hand of power) cannot save us.

3.   Behold, the hope of a man is false; he is laid low even at the sight of him. No one is so fierce that he dares to stir him up. Who then is he who can stand before me? Who has first given to me, that I should repay him? Whatever is under the whole heaven is mine.  (Job 41:9-11) Prior to these verses, God had been describing Behemoth. He goes on to say that we fear a created thing and our strength fails us – what makes us think we can stand before The Creator? We fear dinosaurs more than we fear The Almighty! We would not dare contend with Behemoth, yet daily, man raises his fist at God and cries out injustice; or at best points a doubting finger at God with questions of fairness. We so often forget that we have given God nothing, and have no claim to His mercy and grace. There is not an action we can do to put ourselvs in a favorable light with Him.  For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.” So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy. For the Scripture says to Pharaoh, “For this very purpose I have raised you up, that I might show my power in you, and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” So then he has mercy on whomever he wills, and he hardens whomever he wills.
(Rom 9:15-18   )

After God was finished speaking to Job, his response was amazing!

“I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.
(Job 42:2) He affirmed God’s sovereign control over all things. That God can do whatever he desires, and that He accomplishes exactly what He desires to accomplish – always.

This biblical view of God affected Job drastically.

I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees you; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes.”
(Job 42:5-6)

God is also concerned with the view we hold of Him.

After the LORD had spoken these words to Job, the LORD said to Eliphaz the Temanite: “My anger burns against you and against your two friends, for you have not spoken of me what is right, as my servant Job has.
(Job 42:7)

May God graciously give us a right view of Him.

Leave a Reply

