Engaging the culture with the gospel of Jesus Christ.

The Humility caused by God’s Sovereign Choice

“even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him.” Ephesians 1:4

My 16 month old son goes to sleep to music. There is one song that seems to calm him above all others – “Amazing Grace (My Chains are Gone)”. I remember laying him on my chest and singing this to him and almost instantaneously he would go from screaming to silent. Now, I am not saying this to speak of any “magical powers” in the song, or an attempt to encourage you to go buy a Chris Tomlin cd.. (I will do that briefly now, GO BUY A CHRIS TOMLIN CD! “Arriving” and “See The Morning” are two of my favorites….now that we’ve had a word from our sponsors…=)… ) My son was sleeping and we had that particular song on repeat, and Chris was singing the last verse, which for some reason we don’t have a habit of singing in most of our churches today. It goes like this,

“The earth shall soon dissolve like snow
The sun forbear to shine
But God, Who called me here below
Will be forever mine”

(for entire song lyrics click here)

And when he said, “But God Who called me here below…” that word “called” rang in my mind. I began to thank God for His grace to me in calling me to Himself. And He began to remind me that not many noble and wise are called, but rather He has chosen the foolish to confound the wise.

A friend of mine once told me that one reason she couldn’t believe in the doctrine of election is that she couldn’t say, “A HA! God has picked me; but sorry, He hasn’t picked you!” This couldn’t be further from the true spirit or teaching of biblical election. God could have chosen to save the rich and influential. Why not save a man who owns a major media corporation, or the richest man in the world? Surely one’s media power and the other financial sway could further the spread of the gospel. Why save a nobody born in North Carolina, and now living in Tennessee? This doesn’t make me proud, but humble. Ephesians tells us it was for the glory of His grace. He get’s all the praise! Surely the richest man in the world could have loads of Bibles printed and it not put him in a bind the least bit, so why use people who are limited in their financial resources? The answer: His strength is made perfect in our weakness!

God’s sovereign choice in salvation, doesn’t cause one to be puffed up that he was picked by God while another was passed over. If this is the response of anyone professing to know Christ, I would venture to say he is self-deceived, and doubly so: 1. in thinking he is known of God, and two in thinking he is worth saving. It causes one to fall at the feet of The Savior wondering why he wasn’t passed over as well.

And the beauty of it all, is even the answer to this question is found in God Himself. Ephesians 4:32 “…as God in Christ forgave you.” My forgiveness is not merited by any value of my own, but all of Christ’s! My value only purchases damnation. Christ bought me life!

Soli Deo Gloria!

Leave a Reply

